About the HR Symposium

The Mission of the HR Symposium is to support the growth and development of the Northern California Human Resources profession through education, networking, scholarships, and recognizing excellence, all by way of an annual one-day symposium. The HR Symposium began in 1986 when Ron Beach, then Classified Advertising Director of the San Jose Mercury News, wanted a way to recognize the contributions of the human resource community. Over the years, the Human Resource Symposium has become a forum to bring together business experts, leaders, and human resources professionals to discuss issues and trends affecting HR and the Silicon Valley.

From 1997 until 2011 the San Francisco Chronicle was the Symposium's major sponsor. With sponsoring companies covering some of the expenses for the Human Resource Symposium, the bulk of the registration fees received go to Human Resources, Inc., a nonprofit corporation that manages the funds.

These funds are used for scholarships awarded to upper division students majoring in Human Resource Management at universities in Northern California with excellent graduate and undergraduate HR programs.

The scholarship program is called the Lyn Boone Memorial Scholarship and is named after a long-time member of the Symposium Steering Committee and one of the founders of HR, Inc. In the past 15+ years Human Resources, Inc. has awarded over $400,000 to deserving students. Volunteers associated with the human resources community provide management of Human Resources, Inc.

Human Resources, Inc. - Board of Directors

  •   Jeff Jacobs – Board Chair
  •   Deanna Fairchild – Scholarships Chair
  •   Deborah Morton – Marketing Chair
  •   Bev Principal – Treasurer
  •   Sharon Winston – Steering Committee Chair
The HR Symposium is a non-profit organization, and our steering committee is made up of all volunteers who spend the entire year planning each Symposium. Each volunteer committee member is associated with the human resources community and donates their time and services toward the overall success of the Symposium. We are:
Sharon Winston, Steering Committee Chair: ProjectHIRED
Bev Principal: Stanford University School of Engineering 
Bindu Garapaty : Juniper Networks
Deanna Fairchild: Oracle
Deborah Huff: Korn Ferry
Deborah Morton: Anritsu Company
Evelyn Finley: Oracle
Elizabeth Gomez: Cadence
Grant Doster: Lee Hecht Harrison
Jeff Jacobs: Juniper Networks
Maxine Goulding: California Special Occasions
Melissa Kirtley: Proper I.D. Branding
Natasha Hoady: Nutanix
Noël Kreidler: Kreidler Solutions
Noelle Ridder: Apple
Rich Potter: Xilinx
Sam Haider: Atlassian
Vickie Turner: Cypress Semiconductor